Welcome to another edition of the KanJam Mailbag. We get a lot of great questions from KanJam fans every week via social media and email, and while we respond to as many as we can individually, we like to answer a few of the most asked questions on the blog as well.
Q: Our first question comes from Zach T., who asked on Facebook whether our new KanJam Splash game would be sold at Dicks Sporting Goods?
A: Zach, we're happy to report that starting in May, Sporting Good stores Modell's and Olympia Sports will begin to carry KanJam Splash. If you're living in Buffalo, you can buy the game at Laux Sporting Goods, and of course, you can always buy all KanJam products at our own online store.
Q: We received another KanJam Splash question from Rachel in Buffalo, who asked whether "the rules for KanJam Splash were at all different than the original KanJam game?"
A: Rachel, there are no specific rule differences between KanJam Splash and the original KanJam game. The scoring, throwing and deflecting rules are all the same. The one difference between the two games is the distance between the two goals. The official distance between the two goals in original KanJam is 50 feet, which you may find to be too far when playing KanJam Splash. We suggest starting at a relatively short distance and keep moving further apart until you find a distance that is comfortable while still being challenging.
Q: Rob D. emailed us a few weeks ago and asked if there are "any official KanJam tournaments throughout the year, besides the KanJam World Championships?
A: Rob, the answer to that question is, while the World Championship is the only officialy sanctioned KanJam tournament of the year, we know of dozens of tournaments and leagues run by fans across the country. If you're interested in starting your own KanJam league or tournament, you can email us at [email protected] for help getting your event off the ground.
Q: Our final question for this mailbag came from Dana D. who had emailed us about proper deflecting technique. Her question was "if a player is attempting to flip a low throw up in the air to get a 3-pointer, is that considered a carry?"
A: The question of what is and isn't a carry is one of the most talked about rules of KanJam. Regarding this question, if a player were to simply flip the disc toward the top of the goal without catching or holding on to the disc in any way during the process, that would be a clean deflection. However if the player manipulates the path of the disc in any way by catching, holding or grabbing the disc that would be considered a carry. So the short answer to your question Dana is, it is possible to flip a low throw into the top of the goal without being a carry, however many times this will be a judgement call that all four players need to agree on.
If you have a rule dispute during a game, or are looking for an official KanJam score keeper, you can download the KanJam Mobile App for all apple and android devices, by going to the app store on your phone.
If you have any KanJam related questions, please feel free to post on our Facebook page, Tweet @TheKanJam or email [email protected]